Why You Gotta Be Like That Neymar?

Last week Paris Saint Germain was playing in a heated Coupe de la Ligue semifinal against Stade Rennes.  PSG had a tougher time than usual with their league opponent edging them out 3-2. The victory came as no surprise, but it was Neymar that surprised the world with his “questionable form”, pulling this cheap move that you’ll see below .

Later in the game there was a scuffle between both teams, that undoubtedly stemmed from Neymar’s earlier action. Neymar defended his action saying he does this to his friends.

“I made a joke by giving my hand to my opponent and then pulling it away,” he told Brazil outfit Esporte Interativo.

“Everyone will make a scene, say nonsense.

“If I do this with my colleagues, friends, why can’t I do it with my opponents?

“That’s why sometimes I say football is boring sometimes.”

Bad form? OOOOOOOK Neymar, whatever you say. Look, if you’re pulling this bush league stuff with your friends, that’s one thing, although, I still find this hard to believe. If he’s doing this in practice, maybe you let it go, because its your teammate, ultimately you’re on the same side.

BUT, picture this, you’re playing your most HATED rival (I imagine everyone hates PSG in the french league), that beats you EVERYTIME, and their best player, who’s been clowning you all game long with a shit-eating grin on his face offers his hand, only to pull it back and laugh. If I’m the ref and I saw this, I’m giving Neymar a yellow card immediately.  This is just asking for confrontation, and it’s not right that the first guy to get some justice on the wonderkid would be the one punished. Bad form on the part of Neymar, and maybe he can add a little sportsmanship to his vast arsenal of skill.

Leave a comment